Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma, 6 others booked by Mizoram Police


The Mizoram police filed Criminal cases against Assam Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, four senior officers of the state police and two more officials over the violent clash that took place on the outskirts of Vairengte town in Mizoram's Kolasib district on July 26.

In the FIR filed by a Mizoram Police inspector dated on July 26, stated the accused have been booked under various sections of the Indian Penal Code (IPC), Arms Act and Mizoram Containment and Prevention of Covid-19 Act 2020.

The four senior Assam Police officers named in the FIR are Inspector General of Police (IGP) Anurag Aggarwal, Deputy Inspector General (DIG) of Cachar Devojyoti Mukherjee, Cachar Superintendent of Police Cahndrakant Nimbalkar, and officer in-charge of Dholai police station, Sahab Uddin.

Cachar Deputy Commissioner Keerthi Jalli and Cachar Divisional Forest Officer Sunnydeo Chaudhary have also been booked under the same charges, Mizoram Inspector General of Police (Headquarter) John Neihlaia said.

Besides, cases were also registered against 200 unidentified Assam Police personnel, Neihlaia said. The four police officers and the two administrative officials have been summoned for questioning on Sunday, he added.