Homepolitics News

Eight MLAs of Karnataka's Congress-JDS Coalition submits resignation

Published By :  Ravi Koneri Image Image
Eight MLAs of Karnataka's Congress-JDS Coalition submits resignation
06 July, 2019
In a fresh crisis for the HD Kumaraswamy led coalition government in Karnataka, as many as eight Karnataka MLAs- Five congress and three JD(S) MLAs,  submit their resignations at the Assembly Speaker’s office on Saturday. 

Congress MLAs Ramesh Jarkiholi, BC Patil, Mahesh Kumatalli, Prathapgouda Patil, Shivaram Hebbar, Subba Reddy and H Vishwanarh, Narayana Gowda and K Gopalaiah from JD(S) have reportedly submitted their resignations to speaker KR Ramesh’s secretary as he was not in the office.

Besides, 8 Coalition MLAs, senior Congress legislator Ramalinga Reddy also arrived at Vidhan Soudha and put in his papers. Speaking to reporters he said,” I have come to submit my resignation to speaker. I don’t know about my daughter(Congress MLA Sowmya Reddy), she is an independent woman.” (Karnataka Crisis: BJP Not Behind Resignation of 2 Congress MLAs’, Claims BS Yeddyurappa)

He added,”I am not going to blame anyone in the party or the high command. I somewhere feel I was being neglected over some issues. That is why I have taken this decision.”

On the resignations, Speaker Ramesh Kumar told, "I was supposed to pick up my daughter, that is why I went home. I have told my office to accept the resignations and acknowledge the same. Tomorrow is a holiday, so I will see them on Monday."

In the 225-member Assembly, the Congress-JDS led combine has 117 members, just four more than the required majority of 114. The Opposition BJP has 105 MLAs. If the eight MLAs of the ruling coalition resign, it will become a minority government.

Meanwhile, Karnataka Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara and State minister DK Shivakumar have called a emergency meeting of Congress Bengaluru MLAs and Corporators later today. 

   Bollywood Gossips