Hometoday News

BCCI announces 15-man squad for ICC World Cup 2019

Published By :  Ravi Koneri Image Image
BCCI announces 15-man squad for ICC World Cup 2019
15 April, 2019
On Monday, Board of Control for Cricket in India officially announced the 15-member Indian side for the ICC World Cup 2019,  to be held in England and Wales from May 30, 2019 to July 14, 2019.  

The team will be led by Virat Kohli. Tamil Nadu all-rounder Vijay Shankar was included in the squad as an all-rounder along with Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and Kedar Jadhav.  Rishabh Pant and Ambati Rayudu were not included in the squad. The 33-year-old Karthik got the nod ahead of the 21-year-old Pant. 

"The second wicketkeeper comes into play only if Mahi (Mahendra Singh Dhoni) is injured. We went ahead with Karthik because of his experience in big matches," Prasad said while announcing the squad in Mumbai.

India's World Cup Squad

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL?Rahul, Vijay Shankar, MS?Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal,?Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar,?Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja and?Mohammed?Shami.

India opens its World Cup campaign against South Africa in Southampton. 

   Bollywood Gossips