Homepolitics News

Congress-JDS alliance sweeps Karnataka by-elections; BJP retains Shimoga

Published By :  Ravi Koneri Image Image
Congress-JDS alliance sweeps Karnataka by-elections; BJP retains Shimoga
06 November, 2018
In a emphatic boost for Karnataka's ruling coalition, Congress-JDS alliance swept the Karnataka by-election results on Tuesday by winning four out of the five seats. The BJP has won only one parliamentary seat, Shivamogga, vacated by former chief minister BS Yeddyurappa. 

Karnataka Chief Minister H D Kumaraswamy's wife Anita won the Ramanagara Assembly seat with a massive margin of 1,09,137 votes while Congress's Anand Nyamagouda bagged the Jamkhandi Assembly seat with a margin of 39,480 votes. JDS' LR Shivarame Gowda and Congress' VS Ugrappa bagged Mandya and Bellary Lok Sabha constituencies by huge margins of 3,24,943 and 2,43,161 votes respectively.

Following the success, the Congress in its official Twitter handle said: "The sweeping victory of the Congress - JD(S) alliance in the #KarnatakaBypolls is just a teaser for what is in storefor the BJP next year. Congratulations to all the winners. #KarnatakaRejectsBJP"

“I congratulate Congress leaders in the state and at the Centre. I also congratulate JDS state leaders and workers who worked towards this win. BJP calls JDS-Congress coalition 'Apavitra Maitri', today that contention has been nullified,” said Kumaraswamy.

The by-elections for three Lok Sabha seats were necessitated after Yeddyurappa and Sriramulu of the BJP and C S Puttaraju of the JD(S) vacated Shivamogga, Ballari and Mandya following their election to the assembly in May. Bypolls to Jamkhandi seat was necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA Siddu Nyamagouda, while Ramanagara fell vacant after Kumaraswamy gave it up. 

The by-elections came as a major setback for the main opposition BJP ahead of the 2019 elections with the party losing its fort -- Ballari Lok Sabha seat -- considered a stronghold of the controversial Reddy brothers. 

   Bollywood Gossips